Jockeys' Championship

The World Pool Jockeys' Championship is a brand-new initiative for elite jockeys to compete against one another based on the World Pool WIN odds for all UK & Ireland World Pool races. The Championship is set to begin at 2000 Guineas Day on 4 May and end at British Champions Day on Ascot 19 October.

World Pool has been promoting the best international racing events and enhancing customer experience since its launch in 2019. This Championship provides a different perspective for racing fans to follow top class jockeys, their horses and high calibre races in UK and Ireland.

World Pool Jockeys' Championship Ranking

Overall Ranking


Points Mechanism

For the winning jockey of every World Pool race, points will be awarded based on the World Pool WIN odds. Different to most jockeys' championship or challenges, the concept of this point system offers a level playing field for all jockeys, from leaders to rising stars, and their chances of winning are dictated by the public as reflects by the tote odds.

Using 2000 Guineas Day in 2023 as an example, for Race 1, Oisin Murphy won the race with a World Pool WIN odds of 3.75. He gains 3.75 points in the Championship. Below shows the points of the 2000 Guineas Day 2023, Kieran O’Neill would become champion of the day with a score of 9.90.

Race No. Winning Jockey Points
1 Oisin Murphy 3.75
2 Paul Mulrennan 4.00
3 Kieran O'Neill 9.90
4 William Buick 4.05
5 Kieran Shoemark 8.00
6 Frankie Dettori 5.95
7 James Doyle 2.55
8 Ryan Moore 4.55

A Championship leader’s cap will be presented to the leading jockey after each World Pool Day.

The points will be accumulated throughout the season. The table illustrates the overall ranking (top 5) in 2023. As part of World Pool’s goal to give back to the grassroots of the racing community, the winner of the inaugural World Pool Jockeys' Championship will be awarded a prize money of GBP 50,000 to be donated to a charity of his/her choice.

Rank Jockey Points No. of Wins
1 Rossa Ryan 178.6 4
2 Jamie Spencer 176.0 4
3 Ryan Moore 90.1 20
4 Tom Marquand 79.3 7
5 Jason Hart 78.9 5

Stay tuned for the announcement of World Pool fixtures since World Pool will certainly cover more UK & Ireland races than last year, which means your favourite jockey may have more chances to score and be crowned World Pool Jockeys' Championship winner in 2024!